Can you help someone?


 Have you ever wondered why you go through the things you do? Maybe it was an accident, a financial reversal, a sickness or some other time when you were suffering. Is there a reason you suffered? I have asked myself this question from time to time and have found some help for myself when I suffer.

  I have come to believe that all of our experiences can be used for some good. The education that I have had has helped me find work, but it is the on hands experiences that are most helpful. As I have grown more proficient in my job I can help others learn from my experiences.

  It is those times of suffering that I think are the most helpful for me. When I have suffered, I have been lucky to have a great support group around me. This support group has been there to encourage me to go on, given needed advice, and helped me make the right decision. It is amazing how that help has come. There have been letters with comforting words or unexpected money in it, a friend who just listened, instruction or professional help.

  After I have gone through these suffering what should I do? I have learned that those who have brought me comfort are those who God has brought into my life and that all of them have suffered as I have suffered or their suffering has given them information that can help me. In 2 Corinthians 1:4 we have these words:“He comforts us whenever we suffer. That is why whenever other people suffer, we are able to comfort them by using the same comfort we have received from God.” God has not allowed us to go through our sufferings alone, He has been there through our sufferings. Because He has been there for us, He asks that we be there for others. If we look around we will find many who are suffering and need our help. Helping others is the will of God. God’s will has two aspects, the one is to worship Him. We do this by attending services, prayer, music, and studying His words. The other is to care for our neighbors. Remember the story of the man who was beaten on the road and it was the man who cared for him that was a neighbor. Jesus told the disciples that they were to be servants (neighbors) to others. As we have been comforted in our time of need can we not help but comfort others?

  May God bless you as you reach out to help your neighbor.

About havejesuswillshare

Nazarene Minister, work with senior adults
This entry was posted in Bible, Christian, devotional, encouragement, God, life lesson, Scripture, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

